28mm tyres

priory
priory Posts: 743
edited October 2017 in Road general
is 28mm a new fashion ?

I have almost always used 28mm or 32mm , but the standard throughout the nineties and noughties was 23mm. Then it became 25mm. Recently i looked at a bike hire website and it was advertising 25 or 28mm. What are your clubs using?
Raleigh Eclipse, , Dahon Jetstream XP, Raleigh Banana, Dawes super galaxy, Raleigh Clubman

http://s189.photobucket.com/albums/z122 ... =slideshow

Comments

• All three sizes, some cases it's what the frame clearance is like, although quite a few more are using 28,s for clubrides/ comfort and 25s and 23,s for racing
  • I am pretty happy with 25mm on my infinito, but when i will need new tires i think that i will give a shot to 28mm.
  • 28mm are great for commuting, definitely helps take out the road noise, & a lot comfier
  • orraloon
    orraloon Posts: 12,694
    Rear 28mm, front 25mm. Went to 28mm on blowout replacement, comfier. But then I'm a trainer not a racer.
  • svetty
    svetty Posts: 1,904
    priory wrote:
    is 28mm a new fashion ?

IMO yes....
    FFS! Harden up and grow a pair :D
  • grenw
    grenw Posts: 803
    28 here. It's what the bike came with. Seems to bring plenty of comfort with it
  • I wouldn't say its a fashion, but for commuting or winter riding I quite like them.
    For my race bike, nope, will stick with 25s.
    I actually have 32's, 28s and 25s that I use on the same bike for different rides / time of year. The 32s are very comfortable and are OK for winter club rides where the general pace is a bit slower. But in my totally unscientific poll of one person, I think the 25s are the best all round size. (No doubt in Feb after I fall off in the winter I'll change my mind)
  • It is not a new fashion. audax riders have been using them for years. they are not fashionable.