Carrera Crossfire 2 or Subway 1?

GeorgiaD94
GeorgiaD94 Posts: 2
edited October 2017 in Road beginners
So I’m pretty new to this cycling business but I have decided to get myself a bike with the aim of losing a few pounds! I will mainly be riding around the city (Cambridge) and on cycle lanes etc.

Problem is, I have no idea where to start with buying a bike! I have decided to get a hybrid but I don’t know if I need disk breaks or front suspension.

The bikes I have been looking at are the Carrera Crossfire 2 or the Carrera Subway 1. Does anyone have experience with either of these?

Any advise on bikes or cycling for an overweight beginner in general would be much appreciated!

Comments

• Honestly, I would choose http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/h ... ybrid-bike over either of those two all day long.

The front suspension on both of those you mention are very basic for suspension forks, it's something you don't need if riding on the road or doing light off-road, plus they will add weight to the bike.

The Marasa is a relatively good spec and weight for £320 before Topcashback or 10% British Cycling membership discount, I believe it can accept anything up to ~2" wide tyres, plus the brakes are hydraulic. It's been one of the best bang for the buck hybrid bikes for several years.
    ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2017 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc 2016
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • subway 1 has a rigid fork
    FCN 3/5/9
  • Disc brakes will work better than disc breaks.
  • subway 1 has a rigid fork

And by default weighs ~2Kg more, plus it has mechanical disc brakes and 3x8 gearing (compared to hydraulic disc brakes and 3x9 gearing on the Marasa).
    ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2017 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc 2016
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • cyberknight
    cyberknight Posts: 1,238
    subway 1 has a rigid fork