Newbie help - Triban or Boardman?

elgroig
elgroig Posts: 4
edited September 2017 in Road buying advice
Hi all,

I appreciate bike advice for newbies is a common topic but I would be very grateful for some help in picking a bike.

I am a complete newbie to regular commuter cycling and am trying to pick the best cheap second hand bike for my roughly 10km journey to work in London. It will be entirely on road, with a couple of hills but nothing horrendous. If possible I'd like the bike to be able to handle some light off-roading from time to time, just for flexibility when riding with friends.

My price range is £150 - £220 second hand. In terms of fit, I am 5'11 and I haven't gotten on too well with drop bars in the past

From my reading I can see that Boardman bikes are highly regarded, as are B'Twin Tribans. I like the idea of the Boardman Hybrid Comp, especially a variant which comes with disc brakes for the wet weather. From the B'Twin Tribans, the 500 Flat Bar looks like it's firmly in my price range.

Any help in picking between the two, or if there are other bikes I should be looking at please let me know. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• rob39
    rob39 Posts: 479
    Can't speak about the Boardman but bought my wife a triban road bike 520. Loads a bang for you buck nice bikes
  • I've got both a Triban 500SE and a Boardman CX Team - they're both really well built and are fun to ride. The Triban is a bit easier to maintain because it's got lots of standard hardware, but for your purposes I think I'd go for the Boardman just because it's a bit more versatile. The flat bar Triban seems pretty much road only, whereas I could imagine doing some trails and towpaths on the Boardman with some slightly chunkier tyres.
  • Thanks both for the input, really good to get some real world insight. Good to know I'm not going down the wrong path with looking at these bikes.