No shower at work...

vegas76
vegas76 Posts: 278
edited November 2017 in Commuting general
I've just changed jobs and now have a 3.5 mile commute. I'm planning to cycle in and was going to aim to do a longer route in the morning however I found out today that there isn't a shower.

Any suggestions as to how to manage this?

Comments

• How long is long?
    My blog: http://www.roubaixcycling.cc (kit reviews and other musings)
    https://twitter.com/roubaixcc
    Facebook? No. Just say no.
  • vegas76
    How long is long?

Building up to 10 miles...
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    Is there a sink behind a locked door you can do a strip wash in ? That's what I've been doing for the last 6 years.
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Do the longer ride on the way home
  • fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    whats the reason for the 10mile commute .. fitness or just enjoy cycling .. if its the latter, you dont need a shower, just cycle slowly, enjoy the journey and chill out.

If its for fitness, then you need to perspire, so either :-

(1) buy a travel towel, soap and a flannel and use a sink
    (2) destroy the world and invest in 30,000 baby wipes
    (3) do the longer ride on the way home
    (4) ... its only 3 miles to work ..... go cycle 10miles, end at home, have a shower and ride the 3 miles in !

I would and do, do (4) ... its great getting a ride in, coming home getting the kid up, then going to work
  • ryan_w-2
    ryan_w-2 Posts: 1,162
    I pay £40pm to use a nearby gym, solely for its showers.

My commute is only 8.7km each way, but I go flat out to make it worthwhile. I'm dripping in sweat when I get to the office.
    Specialized Allez Sprint Disc --- Specialized S-Works SL7

IG: RhinosWorkshop