Replacement 10 speed cassette options?

tonysj
tonysj Posts: 391
edited September 2017 in Road buying advice
Hi All.
I'm in the process of swapping my worn cassette on my Boardman team carbon road bike and the original fitted cassette states it's a
Shimano Tiagra HG500 10speed.12t 28t.
Now I've checked online and found that I can choose between 4 slightly different cassette toothed! options all the same price..
They are
11t 25t.
11t 32t.
11t 35t .
12t 28t
I'm relatively new to all this and want to know..
What will each cassette give me over my fitted one?.
How much difference and typically where I will notice this?
Having progressed over the last year in all aspects , as I ONLY started to take notes of times for this bike, what would be my best "upgrade to performance" so to speak?
I live in Derbyshire so plenty of hills around and a typical 20 miler round trip will generally cover
1500feet of elevation.
Any help appreciated as I really dont know we're to go with this one....
Tony

Comments

• You could do with finding out which rear derailleur model you have, smaller ones will reduce the maximum recommended sprocket that can be used with them.

A smaller tooth range on the cassette will mean smaller jumps between gears, meaning it will be easier to find a gear that suits your cadence.

A larger maximum tooth cassette means the odds of you having to grind at a slow cadence, or even get off the bike while climbing a hill are reduced, often at the cost of bigger jumps between gears (because they still often have a smallest sprocket of 11T or 12T).
    ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2017 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc 2016
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,222
    edited September 2017