Nukeproof wheels on a commercial bike?

maximus2k17
maximus2k17 Posts: 6
edited September 2017 in MTB workshop & tech
I have a spare pair of Nukeproof generators lying around, and a Carrera with less than true wheels, instead of selling the Nukeproofs on, is there any possible way i can adapt the Nukeproofs to fit my Carrera?

Disclaimer: I know nothing about bike building or advanced bike tech, so a bit of a noob here

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    What axles does the frame need front and rear?
    What axles do the wheels use?
    Is everything disc braked?
    Are the wheels the right size for the frame?

Some minor details help.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • 02gf74
    02gf74 Posts: 1,168
    It is likely that the nuke proof wheele are worth more than the carerra bike. They tend to be for downhill bikes so have thru axles, usually 20mm front. Adapters are available but not cheap.

Why not true up the existing wheels? All you need is a £3 spoke key and some patience.
  • cooldad wrote:
    What axles does the frame need front and rear?
    What axles do the wheels use?
    Is everything disc braked?
    Are the wheels the right size for the frame?

Some minor details help.

The bike is a Carrera Kraken 2015
    Not sure about the axles for the frame but the front and rear hubs are 9mm Quick release and 5mm respectively
    The Nukeproof wheels use a Thru axle 15mm front 12mm back
    Discbrakes can be moved from Carrera to Nukeproofs?
    Nukeproof Generators are the same size as the previous wheels, 27.5"

These are the Nukeproof Hubs front and rear
    https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/418131146623853766/

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/nukeproof-generator-rear-sc-mtb-hub-135mm-x-12mm/rp-prod85828?utm_source=awin&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=Skimlinks&awc=2698_1504591012_84a0d0eb4e49e4eefa650ee09699615d