Largest sprocket dropping when cassette on largest sprocket

Russ200279
Russ200279 Posts: 3
edited September 2017 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi all, I am very new to mountain biking and I am looking for some help. I've picked up a 2006 gt avalanche 3.0 for a few quid off gum tree with the idea of getting something much better if I find I enjoy it.

My problem is that when the cassette is on its largest sprocket the large sprocket on the chain set drops off. Everything else in all the other gears see to run fine. Front duralia all well aligned along with rear duralia. I had to fit a new bottom bracket and chain set and I have double checked that I have fitted everythin to spec, everythin is the right size. I paid £70 for the bike but at this rate it seems I'll be spending as much as If I'd bought new.

Can anyone help at all please?

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    You shouldn't be using large/large anyway.

If you have a triple on the front, stick to the lowest half of the cassette in the little ring, the whole cassette should be ok in the middle ring, and the highest gears in the big ring.

But without knowing the specifics...
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,294
    cooldad wrote:

If you have a triple on the front, stick to the lowest half of the cassette in the little ring, the whole cassette should be ok in the middle ring, and the highest gears in the big ring.

But without knowing the specifics...
    This, too much side load on the chain is the problem. Here's a helpful illustration stolen off the web:
    chainline.jpg
  • 02gf74
    02gf74 Posts: 1,168
    cooldad wrote:
    Yes but even so the chain should not drop off.

Is it coming off the front chain ring or the cassette

Are both mechs adjusted correctly
    Is the chain worn
    Is chairing and/or cassette worn
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812