Mudguards - how much better are proper ones?

bigmonka
bigmonka Posts: 361
edited September 2017 in Commuting chat
I'm in the market for a new carbon road bike with discs, but I'm finding that very few of them have got mudguard mounts. It'll be used as my daily commuter and I'm used to having the very good full chromoplastics on my Planet X London Road, but I've got no experience of clip-on type guards - how much worse are they? Is there constant fiddling of the clips? Is the coverage much worse than full guards?

Comments

• Clip ons aren't bad these days - if you set them up properly, most half decent ones won't rattle around much and offer fairly good coverage. Nowhere near the coverage of a full guard, though SKS do some longer than normal clip ons that are a big improvement, and with a full length flap added in place of the crappy one they come with, they're not far off 'the real thing', but you'll never be quite as dry (main difference is the lack of low down coverage at the rear meaning more gunk in your drivetrain and less coverage out front meaning more spray from your front wheel in your face).
  • Squawk
    Squawk Posts: 132
    I've got raceblades as my Trek frame doesn't support full guards. Key points

1. Into wind the front guard introduces a problem: water shoots out of the front of the guard, hits the wind and blows back to hit you. Still miles better than not having one, but you nowhere near the protection of a guard that extends 6 inches out from the fork
    2. The rear one doesn't cover quite as much of the wheel so anyone behind you probably gets more spray than they would from a full guard. It helps somewhat, but doesn't get everything. I haven't noticed any issue with it not extending beyond the brakes.

Faff factor is minimal, once in place they stay put pretty well.
  • dyrlac
    dyrlac Posts: 751