Can i/is it worth upgrading this bike?

MuddyV1
MuddyV1 Posts: 5
edited September 2017 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi everyone,

I'm new to mountain biking and originally got into it for fitness but iv fallen in love with trail videos and have been on a couple of blue and red trails and loved it!

Anyway, the bike I have is pretty... Rubbish! And unfortunately I'm not going to be in a position to buy a new bike for at LEAST 6 months!

I'm wondering if in the mean time I'm able to change some things on my bike so that it's at least a tad better.

The issues I have with this bike is that the forks have about 30mm of travel and don't really spring back too easy, the brakes are old school V brakes and the gears are a bit chompy.

For the sake of money I can live with the gears the way they are if it's going to be expensive, it's mainly the forks and brakes I want t to get sorted.

https://www.discountcyclesdirect.co.uk/images/raleigh_trail_xc24_mountain_bike.jpg

Its a Raleigh Trail XC 24

So, is it worth trying to modify this at all or just wait it out until I can buy a new bike?

Is it even possible to change things out on this bike? How do I know what sizes would fit it if I can?

Thanks for any help and advice :)

Thanks
James

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Don't waste your time or money, just start saving.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • It's worth upgrading only because it will motivate you to learn more about how bikes are built and how to maintain them. In the end it became my hobby and I still got tonnes to learn. If you just want to ride then yes it will be a waste of time and money.
  • cooldad wrote:
    Don't waste your time or money, just start saving.

Yep, good advice.
    Save your cash and watch videos to keep motivated. Upgrading this bike will be throwing money away.
  • cooldad
    jsisidore wrote: