How to remove internally routed brakes and replace them.

Applesandoranges
Applesandoranges Posts: 41
edited September 2017 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi All, just a question regarding mtb brakes as i am a novice when working worth them. I have a set of Sram DB5s on my five that are internally routed. I want to get them off the bike abd sold on ebay and use the money to buy a set of shimanos slx/xtrs depending how much i can get for them. Can i tske the brakes off without cutting cables or whatever. How would i go about doing it?

Second question, could i fit a set of new shimanos with internal routing without requiring a bleed? Also how hard is it to fit where internal routing is concerned? I work on my bikes myself believe it or not but anything to do with cables i never have luck with.

Ive put up with the db5s for so long and i cant stand them they are not conistant, basically are just avids from what ive been told, anyhow they have done me so long but now im driving will be going to trail centres that are not as flat as my local woods and i don't trust them at all.

But they are surprisingly expensive brakes, will never touch sram brakes again.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    You'll have to disconnect either the lever or caliper, and I'm sure they'll need a bleed afterwards.

Internally routed brakes sound stupid to me, I'd just route the new set externally, but easiest way to do it internally is probably disconnect brake housing at the lever, slide a mechanical brake cable into the hose, pull hose through the frame, making sure the cable goes with it (but not all the way, you are using this as a guide).
    Undo new brake at the lever & slide the cable back into the hose, push hydro cable back through the frame, cut hose to length, fit olive & barb, install hose into lever.
    Bleed brake

Guys I ride with really rate Sram Guides, prefer them to Shimano.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda