gear ratios

shiznit76
shiznit76 Posts: 640
edited September 2017 in Road beginners
Hi, if I were riding a compact chainset with 34 on front and 28 on back, what would equivalent gearing at back be be with a 36 chainring on front? This is probably an absolutely shockingly basic question, but I am new to thsi

Comments

• Alex99
    Alex99 Posts: 1,407
    shiznit76 wrote:
    Hi, if I were riding a compact chainset with 34 on front and 28 on back, what would equivalent gearing at back be be with a 36 chainring on front? This is probably an absolutely shockingly basic question, but I am new to thsi

It is shockingly basic. But the answer is 29.65.
  • andcp
    andcp Posts: 644
    "It must be true, it's on the internet" - Winston Churchill
  • Download bike gear calculator for your phone, you can see all the possible gear combinations and their speed/cadence variations
  • shiznit76
    Alex99 wrote:
    shiznit76 wrote:

is there a simple equation to work this out?
  • Alex99
    Alex99 Posts: 1,407
    shiznit76 wrote:
    Alex99 wrote:
    shiznit76 wrote:

is there a simple equation to work this out?

Equation 1): ratio = chainring teeth / sprocket teeth

Rearranges to Equation 2): sprocket teeth = chainring teeth / ratio

Using Equation 1: The ratio with 34 28 is 34/28 = 1.214 (meaning the rear wheel turns 1.214 times every time the crank goes around).

Then using Equation 2 and the ratio we just calculated:
    36 / 1.214 = 29.65 (round to 30). Or if you have a 39t chain ring, 39/1.214 = 32.11 (round to 32).
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Take a camera with you, so you can film the shop assistant's face when you ask for a cassette with a big sprocket with 29.65 teeth...
  • paul2718
    paul2718 Posts: 471
    28/34=S/36, so S = (36 * 28)/34 = 29.65