Speedplay pedals

Andymaxy
Andymaxy Posts: 197
edited August 2017 in Road buying advice
So I have been cycling for almost two years on my SPD pedals. Recently I've decided to get a canyon aeroad cf slx as my race bike. I've been thinking about switching to speedplay pedals, and the reviews are very mixed, so I'm kinda lost.

I'm thinking about speedplay zeros, this will be a race only bike, so it won't be used all that much. I prefer a light action for clipping in, but I guess it doesn't really matter when I only have to clip in once. I've heard about the benefits of power transfer, I'm a climber and like to do breakaways near the top of a hill, are these suitable pedals. They are also lighter than shimano pedals at the same price point, so that's appealing.

Maintenance isn't an issue, I work on my own bike and don't mind having to work a bit more to keep these pedals in good shape.

Lastly, the float isn't something I'm interested in, as I'm only 17, and I have no bad joints.

As a side note, part of the reason I want speedplay is because all my friends use shimanos, and I absolutely don't want them "trying" my spanking new aeroad.

Comments

• svetty
    svetty Posts: 1,904
    Nowt wrong with Shimano - why change for change sake?
    FFS! Harden up and grow a pair :D
  • dannbodge
    dannbodge Posts: 1,152
    Don't forget that the speedplay cleats weigh more than shimano, so eys the pedals are lighter but the overall package?
    Not so much.
  • Andymaxy
    Dannbodge wrote:
    Don't forget that the speedplay cleats weigh more than shimano, so eys the pedals are lighter but the overall package?
    Not so much.

I've checked that, speedplay pedals are still lighter with the adapter to three bolt and cleat at around 90 gram.
  • Andymaxy
    Svetty wrote:
    Nowt wrong with Shimano - why change for change sake?

True, but I've been stuck with shimano for as long as I've been cycling, so I do want to try something new.