First road bike, how is this?

Aaku
Aaku Posts: 20
edited September 2017 in Road buying advice
Hi, i'd like to get into road cycling and i'm a complete beginner. I'm quite active already through various other sports, mainly running. I used to ride the MTB a few years ago but have never owned a road bike.

My budget is around £700. I'd like to use the bike for commuting and for keeping fit, long rides too.

I've seen [this](https://www.merlincycles.com/eddy-merck ... 1779.htmll) (Eddy Merckx Blockhaus 67) and it looks good for the money. What do you guys think? I live in W Yorkshire and it's quite hilly here if that makes any difference. Is there anything else you suggest?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    That's a well specced bike for the money. Decent alu frame, carbon fork, full 105 groupset, Deda bars, Prologo saddle and a Shimano wheelset. Can't see any of the cost-cutting that manufacturers sometimes employ to hit a price point.

But again, at this time of year you can pick up some proper bargains as retailers try to shift the outgoing 2017 stock. And at that kind of price it's hard to pick a bad bike these days. Biggest problem is the sheer choice.

1) make sure you get the right size. Don't just go by the sizing info on the web, if possible at least have a sit on a prospective purchase, better still a bit of a test ride. A road bike can feel a bit odd at first if you've only ever ridden mountain bikes. If in between sizes, get the smaller one.

2) decide if you're going to ride it a lot in the rain. If so, consider a bike that will take proper mudguards.

3) make sure you get the right size...
  • Aaku
    keef66 wrote:
    That's a well specced bike for the money. Decent alu frame, carbon fork, full 105 groupset, Deda bars, Prologo saddle and a Shimano wheelset. Can't see any of the cost-cutting that manufacturers sometimes employ to hit a price point.