Giant Contend 2 or Btwin Triban 520

Kingofthenorth
Kingofthenorth Posts: 3
edited August 2017 in Road buying advice
I'm a beginner to road biking but have used a single speed for years as a form of commute, now I wish to buy a road bike so I can take the sport more seriously. My budget is around 500 as I feel that as a beginner this should be enough. I was wondering whether I should get the Giant Content 2 (https://www.giant-bicycles.com/gb/contend-2) or B'twin Triban 520 (https://www.decathlon.co.uk/triban-520- ... E#v2163635). I am really looking for speed and value for money and know the B'twin is popular for this but have also heard from users that the wheels and brakes may need replacing in the near future after buying the bike, but the Giant doesn't have enough reviews from the general public for me to make fair judgement. I will mainly use the bike for light commute (only a couple miles) and short club runs on the weekends (30 miles), however this will likely increase in the future. I was wondering if any of you would be able to look at the components and geometry of the bikes and suggest which one is better, all help is appreciated, thank you :D .

Comments

• I agree with OXOman
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • oxoman wrote:
    Both are decent bikes the contend is giants updated version of the aluminium defy hence not many reviews. The Btwin is also a decent bike which a lot of people buy as a starter bike and upgrade or relegate to a commuting bike when they get better ones. For me either will do the job it's whether you want a triple chainset or double chainset as the overall gearing works out similar. The brake thing you mention is relevant to all bikes and that is normally to swap the brake blocks to better quality ones for better braking.

Thanks for the reply! What's the difference between a triple and double chainset?
  • Fypo
    Fypo Posts: 24