Turning right from side road (clipless pedals)

Jez2017
Jez2017 Posts: 4
edited August 2017 in Road beginners
This might sound like a silly question (remember: there's no silly questions, only silly people), but I am relatively new to cycling with clipless pedals and I seem to find it hard to cross busy junctions when I'm turning right from a side road.

There are a couple of really busy junctions on my usual commute where there there is a constant stream of cars from both directions. If I was driving, I'd go 'half-and-half' at these junctions, ie first wait for a gap in the traffic coming from my right and then cross into the first lane of the road and wait there until there until was a suitable gap in the second lane (where traffic is coming from my left). If I block other traffic coming from my right for a moment, so be it.

I am not sure if I should be doing the same on my bike and, if so, I find it difficult to get onto my bike, move forward the couple of metres into the road and then to stop again to wait for the second gap in the traffic coming from the left.

The other problem is when there is slow / stationary traffic and cars don't leave any gaps for you to ride through.

Please can anyone offer some advice as to how I can safely negotiate these road junctions?

Comments

• jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    Dual sided pedals... then you can leave the 'can I clip in quickly thinking ' and concentrate on your own safety and not prompting car twitter drivers to post they have seen yet another cycling cnt.
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    I don't see why you find it difficult to move forward - in that situation I'd just not clip in my left foot to get into the middle of the road. You don't need both feet clipped in to move 10 feet or so ?
  • Jez2017
    Fenix wrote:
    I don't see why you find it difficult to move forward