To keep and update or to buy new?

alpineaddict
alpineaddict Posts: 247
edited August 2017 in Road buying advice
OK, so forgetting the whole n+1 thing, I need some help in deciding what to do with my bike...

I'm no newbie, however, I am no fanatic no the bike either... I love riding, but my cycling has been sporadic over the last 4/5 years because of injuries...

I own a Kuota Kharma, and have done for about 6 years now. I've upgraded the saddle and the wheels to Mavic Cosmic elites, but apart from that, the bike is pretty much stock, and in excellent nic... I am now getting back into my riding again and heading to the alps in a few week's time.

Ive been thinking about upgrading my groupset to Ultegra from the stock 105, but more recently have been thinking about upgrading my rear cassette to an 11-32 (which obviously will mean a new rear mech and chain etc.)... All these upgrades would probably set me back about £1000k

So, Ive also been looking at the new Kuota Kougar http://www.kuotacycle.it/gb-en/content/kougar-2017

This new will be about £2400... with of course the spec I want...

So, do I upgrade or buy new... ?????

Comments

• slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    £1000k ... I've got a full Ultegra groupset for sale with spares of each part for that price sir ... I tell you what - I'll fit it for nothing ;)

</windup>

Ultegra Groupsets can be had for £5-600 ... and a cassette (Ultegra) is about £50 - they're consumables btw - like the chains .. so even a full groupset + additional cassette to get you the 32-11 will be in the order of £650 - assuming you're fitting yourself then that's it ...

As to whether you buy new or keep the one you have - depends what you're going to do with the old one and what you're intending to do with the new one and any desire you have to own a new one.