Choice of 3 road bikes circa £1k

James Moore
James Moore Posts: 9
edited July 2017 in Road buying advice
Hi - buying my first road bike and considering the following options:

1. Boardman road team carbon - £800
2. Cannondale Synapse disc 105 - £950
3. Btwin ultra 720 AF - £1050

As I am new to this would really appreciate some advice on which might be the better option.

Cheers.

Comments

• joey54321
    joey54321 Posts: 1,297
    Have you factored in prices for things like shoes, pedals, helmet, clothes, bottles, puncture repair equipment, pump, etc...? Might make the cheaper Boardman the right choice.

I'd probably go for the Boardman anyway, though with it being your first bike it's difficult to advise. I'd say buy which ever one you like the look of and see what happens.
  • Yes extras not a problem. I'd rather get the best bike for my money and for me rather the cheapest out of the 3 (although the cheapest may be the best).
  • dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,217
    The Boardmon is carbon and good value with the £200 saving even if it is only 10sp. The Ultra 720 is also good value with full Ultegra 11sp, however the chainstay mounted rear brake would put me off. The Synapse gets rave reviews though has mech. disc brakes.

If it is your first road bike I would advise you to go to each shop to try them for size and to look at them "in the flesh", and don't be tempted to buy a bike that is too big, even if it seems like a really good deal.
  • mrb123
    mrb123 Posts: 4,620
    http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... reId=10001

Can you stretch to this?

Carbon frame. 105 gears. Hydraulic disc brakes. You can get a further discount off that price if you get a British Cycling membership.
  • Mad_Malx
    Mad_Malx Posts: 5,005
    MrB123 wrote:
    http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductMobileDisplay?catalogId=10151&langId=-1&categoryId=165710&productId=1173765&storeId=10001

Can you stretch to this?