Your 'Darwin Award' workshop admissions

pilot_pete
pilot_pete Posts: 2,120
edited July 2017 in Workshop
After reading slowbikes admirable admission regarding removing his HT2 crank arms using an incorrect technique in this thread http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=40004&t=13081990 I thought a bit of confession might be good for the soul. :lol: So, what is your best dufus moment in the workshop worthy of the Bike Radar Dawin Award for cack handed spannering?

I'll get the ball rolling with being an over enthusiastic (and penniless) youngster who built my own bikes from discarded bits from various council tips. This made me think I was a master mechanic with my abilities and my love of stripping things down and cleaning them to within an inch of their lives, then putting them back together with my dads Castrol LM grease etc.

After two years of scrimping, saving pocket money and doing little jobs here and there for cash I saved the grand sum of £140 and bought my dream bike - a Raleigh Rapide in beautiful polar white. Why on earth I thought this needed the same treatment as my previous 'bitsas' is beyond me, but one day not very long after getting the bike and certainly not after any significant mileage I decided to strip, clean and re-grease the bottom bracket bearings.