Eroica in Gaiole 2017

davidof
davidof Posts: 3,042
edited September 2017 in Sportives/audaxes/training rides
Following the thread in Vintage Bikes

viewtopic.php?f=40119&t=13081292

I thought I would create a general thread for this even in October with some notes I made. Feel free to add any specialized knowledge, I'm far from an expert.

Here is my video from last year:

https://youtu.be/afTztbS7nUY

Medical Certificates

You can show your certificate when you turn up to collect your entry at Gaiole, no requirement to upload it. Basically anything will do, pretty much. It is box ticking for the event to make sure they are covered if you keel over.

Gear

If you are missing something: toe clips, clothes etc. Don't try and find it on line or on ebay. The market the day before has everything and often at better prices than you can find. For example I spent 6 months on craigslist etc looking for period cycling shoes (rats had eaten my own pair of Sidi shoes from the 70s) but I needn't have bothered as they had everything at the Eroica market.

Accommodation

Obviously the best place to stay is Gaiole itself but it fill up fast. There is a campsite on the soccer field in Gaiole. I found accommodation 15km away via AirBNB just before the event. However driving around this hilly area with its twisty roads is a bit of a PITA (it is like Devon, with sun).

The Event

Bike: anything vaguely old looking will do, the only rules seem to be downtube shifters and exposed brake cables. There is no bike check. I rode a late 70s racing bike which was probably near top of the range back in the day.

Tires: Course was ok on 25mm, no worries, the white trails are generally in good condition. 28mm might be nicer.