How to change gears?

millerblade
millerblade Posts: 26
edited July 2017 in MTB beginners
Hello.

Im a complete newbie so you will all read this and think im an idiot! However last time I had a bike I was about 12 and it had 1 switch on 1 handle which ranged between numbers 1 to 6.

Im 35 now and just bought a carrera vengeance 2nd hand. Im wanting to ride to help me loose weight and fitness.

Not been out on it yet. On both handles there are various switches! Gear related I assume. I cant find a manual online.

Here are 2 photos showing each side. Wherr my nails are is where the 2 switches are on each side and obvioualy you can see the dials.

Hope you can help

29nar9y.jpg

2ppdmzc.jpg

Thanks
Danielle

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Gears for the sprockets on your wheel are controlled by levers on the right.

The switch between the chainrings is on the left.

To start off with just ride somewhere flat and practice the ones on the right. They get the most action. One's on the left is for more extreme inclines.

Only change one side at a time and keep pedalling as you do but just ease off the power slightly.
  • Thanks for replying. What should I have my left side on? Which switch shall I use? Same for my right?

Thanks
  • mattyfez
    mattyfez Posts: 638
    Thanks for replying. What should I have my left side on? Which switch shall I use? Same for my right?

Thanks

There's two switches on each gear shifter, one for shifting up and the other for down. Easier gears or harder gears if you like.

You have 3 cogs where your pedals are, I'd stay on the middle cog for now, which is the middle position on the left gear shifter, and then just forget about the left hand side gear levers for now. You'll notice the red indicator move when you change gears.

just use the cogs on the rear wheel which are controlled by the shifter on the right side of the handlebars until you get a bit more used to shifting up and down on the rear cogs.