Strava question

VitaminC
VitaminC Posts: 12
edited June 2017 in Road general
I'm quite new to Strava

There's someone in my cycling club who I'm faster than especially on climbs. I always overtake them on climbs. My average speed on my Strava rides is a bit higher than theirs. Yet when I click into individual Strava segments they always have a better time than me.

How is that?

When I use Strava I just turn it on and stick my phone in my pocket so I can't see it when I ride. They have their phone mounted on handlebars. Does that mean they can see when they are on a segment and go faster then slow down between segments?

Comments

• First.Aspect
    First.Aspect Posts: 14,629
    Do they own a car?
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    You say you pass them on the hills - often the segments often finish before the top?

Some devices do seem to record better times than others. I'd not worry about it. It's only Strava.
  • herb71
    herb71 Posts: 253
    Some people attack certain segments. I like to really attack the downhill segments, because I am fat, but vain, and I can normally get quite high up the chart on the downhills.

Your phone can tell you when you are on a segment if you are that way inclined, or you just get to know where your favourites start and end.

You don't say if you are referring to segment times for the same ride, or all time results?
  • VitaminC
    I'm not worried, just wondered why it is :D
  • VitaminC
    I'm referring to all time results
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    So you want to know who is actually the 'better' at cycling ?
    Your only point of reference is Strava?
  • 7 pages
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    7 pages

Unless you count it using the iPhone app, in which case it'll be 9 pages...
  • meursault
    meursault Posts: 1,433