Most reliable chain speed to go for?

bobbydigital
bobbydigital Posts: 254
edited June 2017 in MTB workshop & tech
Not sure if that title makes sense.

I'm building a project for myself and don't really use the 3 x 9 on my current bike, 2 x 9 would be fine for me as I never use the biggest ring on the crank but was wondering what would be the best option for me to choose.

2 x 10, 2 x 9, 2 x 8 or something else?

I only do light riding but I cover a far few miles off road when I'm in the right mood.
The project I'm building isn't anything special and I'm not a pro rider, far from it, I just want something that's going to do the distance without too much fuss. I do have some parts laying around, SRAM X7 2x 10 derailleurs but wasn't to ask here first before I go and find some shifters, they are just spares.

Also I guess I could just take the biggest chainring off the crank and run 2 speed that way?

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Yep, just bin the ring you don't use....you'll need shorter bolts or a metal bash though as the bots will be too long otherwise.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • JGTR
    JGTR Posts: 1,404
    If 2x9 will be fine for you I'd suggest 2x9??
  • bobbydigital
    I wasn't sure if the chain of an 8 speed would be stronger to warrant going 8 speed, I've had a few 9 speed chains break but maybe it's just the sram chain in question PC951 ii.

Wasn't sure if the ratio of 10 speed would give any more top speed for when I am on the road.

I say 2 x 9 is fine for me because that's what I use with my 3 x 9 set up but still could be other better options but I've only ever had bikes which are 3 x 9.
  • swod1
    swod1 Posts: 1,639