triban 500 se question

blackstar500
blackstar500 Posts: 139
edited June 2017 in Road buying advice
Hi

I am completely new to cycling and currently use a triban 500 se 8 speed to do my commuting .. The issue I have is that my rear derailleur is very nosiy when I am cycling , tried cleaning it but did not resolve the issue and wanted to know whether I could just buy another rear derailleur and fit to my bike without changing the entire group set

Thanks

Comments

• mr_eddy
    mr_eddy Posts: 830
    To answer your question - Yes you could get any Shimano / Microshift 8 speed rear mech (I think the SE uses Mucroshift which is Shimano compatible) and that may improve things (Shimano Claris or Tourney etc) however I would suggest that the issue is due to one or all of the following:

* Incorrectly indexed gears / limit screws - Typically signs of this would be having some gears work fine and others being noisy but not always the case - Either check yourself or have it checket at the LBS
    * Bent rear mech - if the rear mech is bent laterally then it could through the alignment causing noisy gears
    * Dirty / Rusty chain etc - Check your chain is not rusty and also make sure its not stretched - If you have done less than 1000 miles its unlikely to be stretched

A mechanical rear mech is a very dumb thing its basically a cable operated spring so a 'fancy' rear mech is just a spring made with lighter materials so I suspect the issue is one of the above points.

Hope that helps
  • mr_eddy
    mr_eddy Posts: 830
    Note - I should have mentioned that I had a Triban 500 (not the SE) for several months running Microshift R8 components the same as the SE and they were fine - Very quiet and worked faultlessly - That being said this is only because I set them up myself as the 'mechanic' that did it in the shop barely knew which way to hold a wrench.

If my experience is anything to go by with Decathlon then the problem is probably the rear mech is not setup properly.