Scott Spark

Marvinman
Marvinman Posts: 126
edited June 2017 in MTB buying advice
HI,

I'm new to MTB coming from a reasonably high road riding standard, with endurance racing and climbing being my type of event. Having been wiped out by a car resulting in various broken bones I am looking at MTB to sit alongside my road riding when I can't be bothered fighting for space with cars or when the weather makes the road less appealing.

As a roadie I am naturally drawn to lighter components, and am of slight build (5ft 8 and 64kg) so I won't get on with a heavy bike. My main riding will be in/around Afan in South Wales. I will focus upon endurance riding with uphill routes thrown in to allow me meet my aim of quality training rides of 2.5 to 3 hours or more. I am not very interested in downhill or hugely technical trails other than as a means to continue my ride.

I think I am right to look at a 29er, unless someone tells me different. I think I have also decided that I should look at full suspension to keep my options open? Given the lightweight requirements I have been looking at the Scott Spark range. However its a bit bewildering in terms of the various options not only within that range but also more generally. Price is not a factor and I have a budget of circa £3,000 for the bike alone.

So my queries, bearing in mind I am a real MTB newbie (be nice!!), are:

- Can I safely choose carbon in the knowledge it will stand up to some reasonable punishment (I think I know the answer to this, but worth checking);

- Should I choose carbon or go for alu;

- If I am looking at full suspension given my riding aims is there anything in particular I should be looking for?

- I have been torn between full suspension or hard tail, because I like riding quickly and am worried about full suspension being restrictive/slower on simple trails. Is this something I should be concerned with;

- Any views on the Scott spark range?