Best cream to treat saddle sores?

stevenmew
stevenmew Posts: 14
edited June 2017 in Road general
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to cycling and the inevitable has happened, I have a saddle sore. It seems to be lingering and while I'm now using chamois cream to prevent any more sores from occurring (successfully!), I was wondering what the best course of action is with the sore I currently have. I'm now using Lasepton and Bepanthen which are two creams I had lying around the house but they're not really doing the job. Does anyone have any experience with this? Any recommendations?

Thanks very much!

Comments

• itboffin
    itboffin Posts: 20,052
    sudocrem works well but ultimately a hot bath and rest

no assumptions but you do need be keep everything clean down there before and after riding, get out of sweaty kit asap and shower
    Rule #5 // Harden The Feck Up.
    Rule #9 // If you are out riding in bad weather, it means you are a badass. Period.
    Rule #12 // The correct number of bikes to own is n+1.
    Rule #42 // A bike race shall never be preceded with a swim and/or followed by a run.
  • chippyk
    chippyk Posts: 529
    Never seen it in the UK but Boudreaux's Butt Paste is great, picked up samples at conferences for the kids' nappy rash when they were young.
  • navrig2
    navrig2 Posts: 1,844
    Coconut oil after your post ride shower is good for keeping the skin soft and free from sweat rash.

Wash shorts after every ride.

Don't sit around in your shorts after you finished your ride.
  • meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    Sudocrem is mostly a water repellent. When I tried it (after advice from here) it gave me far more problems than it solved. But some people do seem to find it works.

Assos do a skin repair gel that's formulated for exactly this type of problem. Female friends swear by it. I have some but have never tried it. There's probably some cheaper options. I expect your local pharmacist could recommend something too.