From 0 to 13 miles and Back Again

holsweet
holsweet Posts: 2
edited May 2017 in Road beginners
For a long time I've been thinking about commuting 13 miles to work from Kent into central London and back again. I used to love riding bikes as a kid and spent majority of my summers out with friends cycling. I've spoken to friends and colleagues about commuting and they have just laughed at me and put it into my head that I can't do this. Variations along the lines of 'you're a girl', 'you're not strong enough and it's too far', 'you're too nervous and it's too dangerous' which quite frankly has only made me want to do this more.

I'd really appreciate if anyone had any advice on starting out as a complete newbie to road cycling. What tips everyone would suggest about mileage, starting out and anything else I should know before I take on this challenge.

Comments

• Garry H
    Garry H Posts: 6,639
    Just try it and see? Don't get run over.
  • Man Of Lard
    Man Of Lard Posts: 903
    Try it on a Sunday - less traffic & you'll find out if you're fit enough to do it.
  • CiB
    CiB Posts: 6,098
    13 miles is an hour at an steady pace, so physically it's entirely doable, even for girls.

Confidence will come v quickly, so that's a non-event too.

Wear the right togs, have some lights on even in daylight, and be confident. You could do a lot worse than buy a copy of CycleCraft by John Franklin, on which the Bikeability test programme is based and is a hive of v useful info. It used to be recommended a lot on here, maybe it should be again.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/d/Books/Franklin-Cyclecraft-complete-enjoyable-cycling-children-Paperback/B00RWQ1RPC/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1493758369&sr=1-2&keywords=cyclecraft+by+john+franklin
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    13 miles is no distance at all unless you've a medical condition.