Black brake cartridges?

gingertimmins
gingertimmins Posts: 26
edited April 2017 in Road buying advice
Hi guys, so I'm new to this road bike malarkey. Gotta say I'm enjoying it, even though my bike is only a humble carrera TDF.
I'm looking to replace my non cartridge brake pads with some cartridge style ones and all the shops around me stock silver/chrome ones but not black. I know it's a non issue really but my calipers are black and i think the contrast of silver would look odd.
Can anyone recommend some?
Of course I know that it will make zero difference to my braking ability, it's purely aesthetic.

Or am I being pathetic?

Comments

• sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,129
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • Thanks! I always forget about looking on wiggle. one question though. How come, if pretty much any cartridge holder is shimano compatible, the black ones are a fair bit more expensive than the cheaper silver ones?
  • Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    Because they are faster.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote:

He's right you know.
  • Because they are faster.

Why do you really think I want to go for black ones :D
  • trailflow
    trailflow Posts: 1,311
    Dont waste your money.

Buy a front 5800 caliper for £26.49
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-105-5800-brake-caliper/

You get black brake holders, brake pads and actually noticeable much better braking.
  • Check out sram apex.. They come with swissstop pads and are only around 35quid. Great upgrade if you do need new pads

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/mobi ... 7C185375UK
  • See, I do need new pads but I don't want to throw £50+ at the carrera which I'm planning on replacing pretty soon.
  • trailflow
    trailflow Posts: 1,311