snake bite holes in tyres

pe1ter
pe1ter Posts: 169
edited April 2017 in Road general
second time now on diffrent bikes in the last month ive come back from rides and while cleaning bike found holes in tyres like a vipers bitten them ive been cycling for a few years and can honestly say ive never noticed it before also will i need new tyres now

Comments

• pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,768
    That's what happens when moving tyres come into contact with a stationary object.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • Garry H
    Garry H Posts: 6,639
    More pressure would be my advice.
  • First.Aspect
    First.Aspect Posts: 14,629
    PBlakeney wrote:
    That's what happens when moving tyres come into contact with a stationary object.
    Which was moving - the bike or the snake?
  • pblakeney
    PBlakeney wrote:
    Hopefully the bike as the wheels were moving.
    Veronese68 wrote:
  • First.Aspect
    First.Aspect Posts: 14,629
    PBlakeney wrote:
    PBlakeney wrote:
    That depends on your frame of reference.
  • pblakeney
    PBlakeney wrote:
    PBlakeney wrote:
    That depends on your frame of reference.
    Hopefully that is moving too.
    Veronese68 wrote:
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    pe1ter wrote:
    second time now on diffrent bikes in the last month ive come back from rides and while cleaning bike found holes in tyres like a vipers bitten them ive been cycling for a few years and can honestly say ive never noticed it before also will i need new tyres now
    Do you really mean "tyres" or tubes? It would be very unusual to get two pinchflat marks in tyres, particularly without puncturing. What pressure are you running, what weight are you and what is the tyre width?
  • pe1ter