Dynamo Hubs - Yes or No?

spokespinner
spokespinner Posts: 6
edited April 2017 in Road buying advice
I'm fairly new to long distance road cycling (aka touring and bikepacking) and on my first mini adventure I was it by power issues. My iphone lasted about 60 miles before the dreaded low battery. Admittedly I was using it as a GPS/route tracker. But having to find a petrol station who would sell me a charging cable and allow me to plug in was a pain! (looking back, I know this was a schoolboy mistake, but hindsight is a wonderful thing).

I have been looking at the possibility of dynamo hub and a Cinq 3 USB charging device.

Has anyone used either before?
Does the Dynamo drastically effect rolling resistance?
Does it charge effectively?

This is not the cheapest of options so I want to know it is right before taking the plunge!

Cheers
Phil

Comments

• ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,310
    left the forum March 2023
  • ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,310
    I think what you want is a portable power source... a USB AA charger costs 2 quid on Ebay, add a pair of Duracell which give you around 8 Ah of charge, enough to power a Garmin for the foreseeable future...

Ditch teh phone, as a GPS unit for navigating is crap... battery life is an issue for those. My Garmin 200 lasts 15 hours and the battery is tiny
    left the forum March 2023
  • iga
    iga Posts: 155