Does the suspension on a K8s really make a difference?

not-another-hillǃ
not-another-hillǃ Posts: 1,310
edited March 2017 in Road buying advice
Just wondering about the suspension on the back of the Pinarello K8-s and if it's a gimmick or really dies smooth things out?
I've got an old back injury and have been through numerous bikes to try to find one that doesn't hurt my back after an hour or so in the saddle. I've got the chance to buy a K8-s but before I shell out, I just wanted some opinions...th eonline reviews look fairly favourable.

Anyone got one/ ridden one / got a mate that's got one etc?

Cheers

Comments

• Snake oil
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • :? :?
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    edited March 2017
    I have no experience of the K8 but my advice would be to look at what is causing your back to hurt. Is it the jarring or is it the position? If the latter then swapping bikes may or may not help so it might be worth looking into bike fits and the like. If the former, I would simply opt for a decent bike that takes wide rim wheels and 32mm tubeless tyres run at a nice low PSI. That option, perhaps matched with a gobl or syntace seatpost, would be much cheaper and open up the choices considerably.
  • Hahaha...the spring thing looks awful!!

I've had a bike fit and am comfortable with the position I have. I don't get anywhere near the back pain on my winter bike, as I do on my summer bike, so I've figured it must be the summer bike that needs replacing!
  • trailflow
    trailflow Posts: 1,311
    Hahaha...the spring thing looks awful!!

lol I've backed it. out of curiosity more than anything. i got the early bird offer of $25 + $10 shipping. No way would i pay more. I just want to know what it feels like to ride. If i hate it, i'll sell it. It wont exactly look good on my dale' Supersix but I plan to fit it to a Canyon VCLS post and a Fizik Kurve Bull saddle as an experiment. It should look proper fred :D:mrgreen: