Best fast tyres for MTB under £25-£30?

itaa
itaa Posts: 61
edited April 2017 in MTB workshop & tech
Hello everyone, I'm in need of new tyres for my mtb ( the old knobby ones are worn to bits and the rubber is cracking, about 9years old I think based on when I bought the bike).

My main goal is to get speed improvement and ease of driving,I can deal with a bit less grip- I think the lowest rolling resistance would be the keyword? my use would be like 50% forest paths (hardly ever muddy or slippery),50% tarmac, but still need something a bit more tough to drive up a kerb and not fall over if I ever encounter some crazy mud?

I'm totally new to all this bike stuff ( well I ride the bike but that's all I do with it :D ) so really have no idea what's good /what's the best/ and whats not so good.

I want to spend as little as possible( who doesn't... :D ) , and I have found that at a lot of places the schwalbe city jets are pretty popular , can get them for 18pounds on fleabay, but If there's something much better I don't mind paying a bit more. However I got no idea what's good and what's not.

my wheel size is 26 and I think I want probably 1.5 wide tyres ( my current are 1.95) if that makes a difference.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    The CJs are a good budget road slick, they are a little wooden feeling to ride compared to the better ones (that will cost about twice as much) such as the Maxxis Detonator.

Any slick though is pretty useless on mud, with mud you need something that will dig into it (deeper harder mud) or through it to the hard surface below (slimy top layer of mud) when something like the Kenda small block 8 will be better. A thinner tyre will also be less forgiving up kerbs and so on and you need to take more care so as not to pinch a tube or damage a rim.

If your previous tyres lasted that long they were probably rather cheap and nasty and a very hard compound, almost anything will be a nicer ride.