Ladies size

timbo_tim
timbo_tim Posts: 199
edited March 2017 in MTB buying advice
Hi all

This is potentially going to sound like a stupid question but looking for help sizing my missus up on an MTB. She is new to cycling and I am new to MTB and have no idea how to right size a frame for her!

She's 5'4" so we bought a small Trott MTB (5'2 to 5'6 range) but with what looks a fairly big amount of seat post she is still able to touch the floor with "most of her foot". Non scientifically the saddle is marginally below the handlebars so I reckon there is more height we can get off raising the saddle but I wasn't sure if it's like a road bike where it's better to have a smaller frame and a lot of seat post, or go up a frame size and have less seat post?!

I have a medium on order at Halfords but don't really want to collect and then try and return it once I have built it (would they even accept it?) if it's going to be too big. Equally any thoughts on whether I can return the unused small (but sat in the shed for a few months) to Halfords?

I know saddle height isn't the only determinant of a right frame size but I've no idea what to look for! Sorry for all the vague details but bike is in shed and wife is in bed!!

All thoughts welcome (apart from those critical of me being able to work this out!)

Thanks

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Its perfectly normal on an XC/Trail bike like the Trott for the saddle to be higher than the bars. Mine is about 2" higher, I typically have about 7-10" of post showing out the frame (I'm not sure how much you call a fair bit!) depending on the frame geometry.

The seatpost is fine to be lifted as far as the minimum insertion mark which will be leaving circa 100mm in the frame. (The irony being that most seatpost shims are circa 65mm which is fine for the frame to handle).