Time for a road bike, Synapse Carbon vs Alloy some for Trek Domane

OUGrad05
OUGrad05 Posts: 15
edited March 2017 in Road buying advice
I've narrowed the search down to Cannondale Synapse and Trek Domane. I'm on the fence about Carbon vs Alloy, specifically as it relates to Cannondale. The synapse 105 alloy and synapse carbon disc 105 are both impressive kit for money and the alloy seems like particularly good value for money.

I like the fitment of the alloy better but it's easy to tweak the handlebars on the synapse carbon with a spacer to make the geometry match that of the alloy.

I'm really on the fence about whether the carbon is worth it, I don't have a problem spending the money if it's worth it, the hydraulic brakes etc are another plus of the carbon. But I also want something durable and that will last. I'm 6'6 and require the 61 in the Cannondale and the 62 in the Trek.

I've been riding my MTB on road/trails for 6 years, it's got about 5,000 miles on it, 70% road, 30% trails, and I basically need to do a drivetrain replacement. My first priority is getting a road bike for faster, more comfortable road riding and I'm going after the endurance geometry for comfort.

I would appreciate any thoughts, comments or questions from the group here to help guide me on my purchase decision.

Comments

• fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    yup, I would go for the hydraulics as well .. It would be the decider for me !
  • onionmk
    onionmk Posts: 101
    As it's youre first road bike, don't forget to factor in a bike fit! It will set you back around 110 squids- a small price to pay for injury/discomfort free riding for miles and miles.

Another +1 for hydraulic discs. I'd choose them over anything given the choice. Mechanical discs are still very good though (TRP Spyre gets good reviews).

IMO the Alu synapse will be more durable but if you're buying brand new you're probably covered under warranty for carbon anyway.
  • OUGrad05
    onionmk wrote: