Specialized Diverge 56cm or 58cm frame?

vacantplanets
vacantplanets Posts: 3
edited July 2018 in Road beginners
Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to cycling and have been using a vintage fixie for my London commute for the best part of 5 months and I'm after an upgrade so I can have more versatility in my rides however I choose. The Specialized Diverge is likely to be the bike of choice as as they have really taken my fancy.

However, I'm really unsure as to what size to get as I've heard numerous different opinions on the sizing. I was recently measured by Evans Cycles and they told me I am spot on for a 56cm bike frame, but I've read that Specialized bikes fit rather small and are quite compact. The lady in store also said for Specialized people do have a tendency to size up. For the record I am 6ft and have quite long legs with a short-medium length torso.

Does anyone have any advice on what might be the best fitting for me? Is this whole compact fitting a bunch of nonsense or is there something to it? Has anyone got a Specialized bike and happen to be a similar height to me and can advise?

Thanks in advance,

Miles

Comments

• I am also 6ft with in my case a 33" inside leg.I am at the top end of 56cm and the bottom end of 58cm.I bought the 58cm because I have an inflammatory back condition which requires a higher riding position,the 58cm having a longer head tube.

The bike came with a 110mm stem which I swopped out for a 90mm 0deg stem to achieve my normal bike fit.

Been using my Diverge all winter,still not sure about disc brakes!
  • Would you say that with my circumstances the 56 would be the better option? I'm not overly keen on too much of an upright position, but then again, i dislike an overly 'aero' back either.
  • Diverge is not particularly aero,having same geometry as a Roubaix which is an endurance bike.You could always tinker with stem length and seatpost set back to get your position correct on the 56cm.