Purchasing my first Road bike advice.

Stella:or:wine
Stella:or:wine Posts: 5
edited February 2017 in Road beginners
Evening people, my first post on here and I'm after some advice on buying my first Drop-bar. First of all let me tell you about myself. Turned 40 last August and after looking at my birthday pics and saw a fat bloated bloke that needed some attention. So I decided to buy a bike and after some *research* I bought a hybrid bike ( *research*= I liked the colour). After 4 months and getting quite an addiction to cycling I'm ready to move on to the next level. I've a budget of £1000 and looking for advice on the best way to go. Im a total novice on terminology etc, but have a basic understanding on Shimano group sets (105 v Tiagra) and how bicycle manufacturers compensate with frame's, wheels etc. Looking for endurance over speed although strava makes me want to go faster ( and destroy everybody else).
So any advice would be most grateful.

Comments

• Cheers for that "mostly".
  • Jerry185
    Jerry185 Posts: 143
    I had the Decathlon Triban for 18 months. Perfectly decent bike, according to an ex-pro in Mallorca, especially for the money (just change the naff tyres)
  • singleton
    singleton Posts: 2,498
    If it were me with a max budget of a grand right now, I'd get:
    CAAD8 105 and sell the standard wheels and replace them with something like Hunt 4Season Aero V2 wheels - ideally with tubeless tyres.
  • Big thank you for all the feedback. Got a lot to think about now and get some research done on all your suggestions while the mrs watches all that crappy soap opera rubbish. Cheers people.
  • With much the same constraints I ended up with a 2016 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc - 105 all round, carbon frame, discs and under £1k (on sale down by over 30% at the moment). Pleased so far :D
  • Genesis Equilibrium.
  • laurentian
    laurentian Posts: 2,387
    djone101 wrote: