Road biker turning to Mountain biking

Blue9320
Blue9320 Posts: 8
edited March 2017 in MTB buying advice
So I've been cycling for a few years now and enjoy getting out in the road but I'm looking at rolling back the years and going getting muddied up on some trails and forest riding.
I've got a budget of about £1200 and my question is, do I go for an entry level full sus bike or spend the same amount on a hardtail with a better spec?
I do like the look of the bird zero am but I was a little worried I wouldn't be able to get down the same trails as a few friends who are all on pretty decent full sus bikes.

Comments

• Unless you're talking about chasing your mates downs some chunky DH type trails - i.e. with big stepped root or rock shelves and massive ruts - you'd have just as much fun and still be in control on a hardtail. In any case those sort of trails can be ridden on a hardtail, but that'll come from the technique you'll have lots of fun re-learning!

A £1,200 Bird hardtail would have a very nice spec and I'm sure you'd appreciate the benefits of, for example, a dropper, decent tyres and a groupset upgrade, over an similarly priced full susser.

I'd say go BIRD or a lovely Lime Whyte 901
  • Definitely would recommend the hardtail.
  • Wooderson wrote:
    Unless you're talking about chasing your mates downs some chunky DH type trails - i.e. with big stepped root or rock shelves and massive ruts - you'd have just as much fun and still be in control on a hardtail. In any case those sort of trails can be ridden on a hardtail, but that'll come from the technique you'll have lots of fun re-learning!

A £1,200 Bird hardtail would have a very nice spec and I'm sure you'd appreciate the benefits of, for example, a dropper, decent tyres and a groupset upgrade, over an similarly priced full susser.

I'd say go BIRD or a lovely Lime Whyte 901
    thx for the reply I will take a look at the 901 too, I had seen good reviews
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774