Winter tyre choice

tablatom
tablatom Posts: 11
edited January 2017 in Cyclocross
Hi i am new to cyclocross.

I have a Boardman Team CX.
It came with Schwalbe Rapid Robs 35c. They weigh 480g

I bought Some WTB Nano 40c's going cheap. They weigh 530g

Now they have arrived i'm not sure they will serve me better in the wintery conditions i ride.
40% muddy forest tracks, 20% wet grass, 20% cycle track thats a mixture of gravel and wet hard pack , 20% tarmac.

Which of the 2 would you go for?

For the summer i have bought some Conti Speed Ride's, at 42c (apparently they often measure around 38-39mm after fitting) and a file tread with small knobblies on the side, they will be great when it dries out. They weigh 420g
I use the Conti cyclocross speed on my hybrid/commuter (35c - 340g), great for winter paths and roads, very fast. Same tread as the Speed ride.

Comments

• robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    I have the same bike and tyres as you, I replaced the wheels for a wider rim and they come up at 42mm.

Staying with this width of tyre there isn't much else out there at the moment, if you want something with a bit more mud orientation then it's the Schwalbe X one bite, which is narrower.

I run mine tubeless with 26psi rear and 23psi front, but I only weigh 62kg, over pressure will make them feel skittish on some surfaces, so have a play with the pressures.

The Rapid Robs are OK but not on the same level as the Nanos.
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • robertpb wrote:
    I have the same bike and tyres as you, I replaced the wheels for a wider rim and they come up at 42mm.

Staying with this width of tyre there isn't much else out there at the moment, if you want something with a bit more mud orientation then it's the Schwalbe X one bite, which is narrower.

I run mine tubeless with 26psi rear and 23psi front, but I only weigh 62kg, over pressure will make them feel skittish on some surfaces, so have a play with the pressures.