Tcr and defy owners

Barry danger
Barry danger Posts: 42
edited January 2017 in Road buying advice
Is there anyone who owns both a defy and a tcr and could advise on sizing ? I have a ml defy advanced which I feel very comfortable on and am planning on buying a tcr . I'm after a more aggressive bike and am completely confused on which size to buy . I've studied the geometry on both ml and m and just can't decide . I've had up to a 130 mm stem on my defy (no spacers ) and have been comfortable but have settled on a 110 mm due to me realising I'm trying to turn it into a bike it's not , hence me wanting a tcr. I'm new to road biking ( 1 year ) and have read various posts with conflicting advice off experienced riders who say the ml is to long and the medium is too small for somone my size ( 180 cm ,80 cm in seam and just on the ape index) . I can test ride the bikes but they will have to be ordered and sent back and I want to get it right first time so any advice will be greatly received . Cheers .

Comments

• I upgraded from a Medium Defy and just went straight for a Medium TCR Advanced. It worked for me but everyone's different.
  • M/l defy,m/l tcr,m propel here.id say defy and tcr same size,propel 1 size down
  • Thanks a lot , the answers I was hoping for !
  • I went from a Large Defy to a Large Propel which has the same geometry as the TCR.
  • Balazsgal wrote:
    M/l defy,m/l tcr,m propel here.id say defy and tcr same size,propel 1 size down

Interesting that you sized down on the Propel. Was that just to get a more aggressive possession?

I was always of the understanding that the Propel and TCR shared the same geometry?
  • Dan Walton wrote:

I was always of the understanding that the Propel and TCR shared the same geometry?

Same here. :?
  • bristolpete
    bristolpete Posts: 2,255
    edited January 2017