Pedals - Cartridge bearing Vs Bushes

oms
oms Posts: 13
edited January 2017 in Road buying advice
Hiya,

I'm after some pedals for use on the road - with a two bolt recessed cleat.

I have some lightweight carbon MTB shoes which are super stiff - as far as efficiency/hotspots go, they're up there with road shoes with the benefit of being able to walk into cake shops etc (cycling is all about the cake in my world).

I'm therefore keen on an SPD compatible pedal.

I have two options:
Shimano SPD type pedals (M540, A600, or XT)- which have a cartridge type bearing (I assume ball bearings on both ends of the spindle).

SPD compatible pedals - which have a bearing at one end of the spindle, and a greased plastic bush on the other (almost identical to how Crank Bros set their pedals up). I have plenty of experience with using/re-building this type of pedal.

As far as those bearing types are concerned, is there any real difference in efficiency as far as road riding is concerned? What is the general consensus RE buses vs ball bearings?

Ta v much.

Comments

• Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    I wouldn't overthink it. Just buy the pedals you like/are used to and ride your bike.
  • If cycling is all about the cake I can't really fathom why you would care about the potential tiny differences in efficiency between the two options? I'd do what Bobbinogs says, or I'd look at float (angular and lateral) and make my decision based on that.
  • meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    Bearings are more efficient than bushes. Bushes tend to be more resilient to crap getting into them as there's no point loads. Personally, for road, I think I'd go for bearings.
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123