What made you start cycling?

2»

Comments

• haydenm
    haydenm Posts: 2,997
    My older brother got a mountain bike when I was about 11, it was cool so I started riding my fully ridged around woods and quarries with my friends. Most of my mates gave up but I was obsessed (partly because I had spent 2 years doing a paper round for a proper bike whereas my mate's parents spend hundreds on theirs and they were already bored by the time I got mine) so I stuck at it and stayed pretty deeply into mountain biking to this day. Now nearly all the people I know are from riding bikes, doing season/summer trips and racing. I'm completely addicted to the feeling of riding bikes down hills fast and couldn't give up if I tried.

For road cycling it's been more of a recent gradual thing, I saw it as good training for mtb, my brother (again) and a uni mate gave me a fair bit of pressure. I don't have any riding friends up here so I find strava motivates me for both types of riding, along with being dragged out touring or multi day rides which I need to be fit for. After a bit of time I've found I genuinely enjoy it so now I have more options for the weekend/holidays

Another motivator for me is that if I don't ride for over a week or two I start to feel dreadful, the mtb leaves me feeling great and the road bike is starting to get there
  • awavey
    awavey Posts: 2,368