My E Training

DLSilsbury
DLSilsbury Posts: 19
Hi, I'm new to turbo training and got myself a few bits n bobs to try it out in the garage. I'm trying to increase my fitness and lose a bit of weight and finding it motivational to know what calories I'm burning, my heart rate etc.
So I got a Elite Crono Mag Speed Alu Trainer, and a Elite Misuro B+ Bluetooth/ANT+ Speed/Cadence Sensor. After a bit of tweaking I got it set up with "My E Training" and realised it seemed a bit pointless without a HR monitor so got one of these too.
However it's my understanding that I still don't have a correct way of calculating the power I'm using in watts. So when I tried a training session the number of watts was calculated to be about 30 watts although my legs were spinning at about 120 rpm. I know you can change the level in these workouts through the app and that appears to increase the watts used. So I'm left wondering how do I know what level I should start my workout at to get any reliable readings? Am I missing something?
I'd love to hear from anyone with experience of this please.

Also it appears that zwift is very popular on this forum. Is it worth trying that with my setup?

Many thanks

Comments

• napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    Forget the power aspect. Work on how hard it feels for now (Rate of Perceived Exertion or RPE)
    Wear and record your heart rate to give you an idea of what your heart is doing during sessions.
    The Sufferfest is probably the best thing to use for your set up.
    Then start looking at testing to find your heart rate zones. I get lab tested to get mine as it's FAR more accurate at the 'endurance' end of the scale but I've found the Carmichael Test pretty good.
    Then incorporate your Heart Ratevtraining zones into your training.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062