A returning giant needs help!

BigBusta
BigBusta Posts: 4
edited December 2016 in MTB beginners
Hi all,
Ill try not to bore you all too much but need your insightful opnions and advice.

A little about me..
I used to ride when i was a teen was in to jumping mostly used to run a kona stuff. started to venture in to downhill before life got in the way.
Im now 27. 10 years has passed in that time i took up powerlifting and had a son.

Hes got a bike for Xmas and we are out riding around the woods etc... Then this nostalgic feeling came flooding and I wonded if i could still do it... Took a run up and cleared a beautiful (tiny) 4 set of steps and snapped the crank.

I should add im now 6 foot 8 and 150 kg aka 330lbs...(im not fat as mentioned im a powerlifter)

Is there a bike out there for a giant like me who is a bit above the normal weight.
Or is it time i accepted im just took big to jump.

Comments

• Rigga
    Rigga Posts: 939
    I'm no expert but apparently the nukeproof mega is a very sturdy and strong bike. Maybe something like that. Depends on your budget of course. Obviously you're going to want plenty of suspension travel too.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    What cranks? What bike? If it was a BSO with Chinese cheese cranks you might not have a problem.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Links to the nuke proof bike would be fantastic mate!

It was a saracen something or other, Rather awkwardly borrowed from a mate.

I wouldnt be doing anything too crazy on it.
  • cooldad
    Doesn't matter whether the frame is tough, if the bits are breaking. I doubt many wheels etc are designed to be jumped with that much weight on them.

Full on DH bits might take it better.
    I don't do smileys.

Parktools
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812