Groupset query

tenohfive
tenohfive Posts: 152
edited December 2016 in Road buying advice
I'm going bike shopping soon for SWMBO's first road bike and at the budget we have I suspect I'm going to have to make some compromises - either with the frame (something I'd rather not do) or the groupset. And quite frankly I'm still new to this all, so whilst I get the basic pyramid of quality (staying within Shimano anyway) I don't get where the big jumps up are, and how much of a difference they'll make.

I've got a CAAD 8 with 105 5700. I'm happy with the groupset (sans brakes, which I've upgraded myself to 105) and would like something of similar performance for SWMBO. Whilst I can't see us doing Mont Ventoux anytime soon I don't want her to struggle overly on the local hills.
I'm mindful that groupsets have moved on and been improved over the years, so is 105 still 105 - or what should I be looking at as a minimum?

Comments

• giropaul
    giropaul Posts: 414
    If SHMBO hasn't got a bike I'm guessing that she may be pretty new to road bikes perhaps.
    I have no idea of her morphology, but providing you get an appropriate frame geometry I would say the key thing about a group set is the availability of crank length, appropriate gear ratios, hand size( for levers) etc. Appropriate bars will also be a factor.
    Ideally, I'd start with a good bike fit, then fit group set, frame etc around this.
  • She'll be having a bike fit from a reputable LBS and fit will of course take priority.
  • godders1
    godders1 Posts: 750
    Current Tiagra (4700) is a really decent group. Essentially 105 with a bit of a weight penalty and 10 instead of 11 speed. Can go to 34t big sprocket too with the medium cage rear mech.
  • Minimum, the latest Tiagra. If within budget 11-speed 105 is good enough for pretty much all of us.
  • Jerry185
    Jerry185 Posts: 143
    In order of quality and road kudos: Sora, Claris, Tiagra, 105, Ultegra, Dura-Ace