Saddle buying advice (to cutout, or not to cutout?)

Holmesy321
Holmesy321 Posts: 37
edited December 2016 in Road buying advice
I've been riding my first road bike for about 18 months now and have recently started experimenting with saddles as I couldn't seem to find a comfortable position on the one that came with the bike.

I tried a specialized power, on recommendation, and it's 'okay'. The soft tissue relief is welcome.

I bought a Fizik Kurve (the Aliante shape) recently and have been riding it for a few days. The general comfort of the saddle is great (it seems to absorb road bumps much better than the Spesh) however after using a cutout saddle it feels a bit like I'm sitting on a pole on 'the soft bits', rather than fully supported on my sit bones.

Is it worth me trying a flatter saddle in the Kurve range? Or sticking with this for a bit and seeing if I can get the position to my taste?

Or sacking it off and finding something else with a cutout (looking at SMP's but gawwsh they're expensive...).

Cheers

Comments

• gethinceri
    gethinceri Posts: 1,640
    I have a Brooks Cambium C17 Carved on my Al bike. It's like sitting on feathers.
  • Jerry185
    Jerry185 Posts: 143
    Find a bike shop that will loan saddles - which you then must ride a lot straightaway to make sure it's the right one before buying the real thing. Or, the shop may have the 'magic plastic' (sit on it to show the sit bones width) and then buy the right saddle with a buy-back guarantee. I did the latter at my LBS with a Bontrager and no problems since.
  • The SMP's are great - and it seems like any shop that stocks them should also have 'loaners'... maybe because they are pricey and a bit weird looking for an impulse buy... try them snd give it several days...

and read this too - don't be fooled into thinking that a sit bone measurement is going to give you a magic number for selecting the perfect saddle for you... ( unless you're on a sit-up-and-beg shopper bike.... or a Harley).