Quick release and disc brakes

Bluejuice
Bluejuice Posts: 23
edited December 2016 in Road buying advice
Think Ive settled on a giant contend sl1 disc for my first road bike.

The only thing putting me off is the use of quick release with disc brakes.

QRs with discs were a pain in the arse on my old mtb, thru axle made it much easier to make sure the disc sat in the right place.

Im new to all thing road biking....is this a non issue?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Comments

• bbrap
    bbrap Posts: 610
    Unfortunately you will get both sides of the argument plus the disc haters. As you have experience of discs with QR and were less than happy I would say go with your gut. I have Thru and as you say the wheel goes back in the same place every time and does not rub. I can live with the extra 10 seconds it takes to get the wheel off and on compared to the QR on my rim bike. Plenty of choice out there for bikes with thru axles.
    Rose Xeon CDX 3100, Ultegra Di2 disc (nice weather)
    Ribble Gran Fondo, Campagnolo Centaur (winter bike)
    Van Raam 'O' Pair
    Land Rover (really nasty weather :lol: )
  • I have a 2015 Giant Defy with QRs front and back and disc brakes. Never been an issue. I have found that the rotor position does not vary when you open/close the QRs, so once you centre the rotor in the caliper, you're good to go.

I also have a TCX with a 15mm TA up front, which I find to be a pain to deal with. There is tight clearance between the axle and the space in the fork.

I am a bit sceptical of the move to TAs for road bikes.
  • So I got a bit of disc rub when I first got mine 2 years ago...then didn't after a couple months for some reason. Been fine since.

Might just have been a case of resetting the brake pistons (might not have been done properly when I got the bike) but can't remember.
  • Thanks for the replies, appreciate all the comments.