TRP Spyre: "Modulation" or "Contamination"?

hnefi
hnefi Posts: 15
edited December 2016 in Workshop
So two months ago I splurged and bought a new bike - Speccy Diverge DSW. I know, not exactly the thoroughbred of race machines, but I am a doctoral student and my money basically goes to rent and food, and I don't have space for the MTB, winter commuter, and Canyon CF SLX 9.0 I wish I had. I was really really excited to ride a bike with disc brakes for the first time, and right from day 1, I have been very disappointed with the braking performance of the TRP Spyre cable-actuated discs, using 160mm rotors.

After riding it from the shop home, I actually rode back and asked them if the brakes were set up properly, since they had maybe half of the stopping power as the 11 year old rim brakes on my old Spec Allez from 2005 (bought used for $200 and basically NEVER maintained it other than washing the frame after it got caked with crap from riding on wet roads). LBS told me about the "bedding in" process, and although the performance did improve after a few rides, I can literally pull the levers as hard as I possibly can from the hoods and barely lock the wheels. And this is on the flats. Going down descents, I am timidly riding the brakes all the way down for fear of not being able to slow down for a corner. In the drops of course there is more braking power, but it is not even close to what I expected from disc brakes. In the rain, the performance drops further, which is exactly the opposite of what I expected from finally buying a disc bike. I purposely picked a budget bike with discs because of the wet weather performance, combined with the fact I live in a hilly region now.