Gloves for the daily commute up to £30, nothing too bulky

russboy
russboy Posts: 436
edited November 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi all,

So the market for gloves is a minefield by the looks of it & I keep buying what I think are ok in the pics, then they turn up & they are so bulky you can hardly feel the bars, brakes etc.

So any personal recommendations?

Fed up of spending £10 after £10 only to get rubbish, need some quality, hoping £30 might be enough to keep my fingers warm in the morning!!

Comments

• crescent
    crescent Posts: 1,201
    edited November 2016
    http://www.screwfix.com/p/skytec-argon- ... oClFHw_wcB

I know you are put off by something cheap but these are definitely worth a shot. I've been using them as winter gloves for a couple of years and find them hard to fault. Warm, waterproof and good dexterity. I've had gloves from Endura, Chiba and Altura at several times the price and these are better in every way.

Edit: as an illustration of the dexterity, I managed to repair a puncture last week while wearing them.
    Bianchi ImpulsoBMC Teammachine SLR02 01Trek Domane AL3“When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race. “ ~H.G. Wells Edit - "Unless it's a BMX"
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    I like the Endura Dexters as they are windproof and work very well but are not bulky...I can get stuff out of my back pockets and unwrap.

The waterproof version are proper winter gloves and can be worn in heavy cold rain...but I haven't worn them too much because the Dexters are much more versatile, are less bulky and don't take long to dry when washed in the machine.
  • gethinceri
    gethinceri Posts: 1,640
    Endura Deluge.
  • I recommend Sealskinz. I don't have mine here, so not sure which one of the All Weather XP or Dragon Eye that I have, but they're good. Not too bulky, keep me dry and warm enough. Not total wind protection, but more than good enough.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667