Direct Mount rear derailleur

top_bhoy
top_bhoy Posts: 1,424
edited December 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
Apologies if this seems a bit of a bog-standard question; I'm a MTB noob and cannot fully confirm my question using the search function.

I currently use a medium cage conventional rear derailleur on my commuting hybrid. This medium cage is only available at the moment as a Direct Mount version.

Can the conventional version be replaced by the direct mount rear derailleur; if so, are there any pitfalls to be wary of?

Or, should I just wait until I can source the conventional version?

Thanks

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,712
    Pretty much all new Shimano rear derailleurs are direct mount, they just come with an adaptor plate which allows them to be fitted to a conventional hanger. Do you have a link to the derailleur you want to buy?

If it is being sold as direct mount only, then it can't be fitted to a conventional hanger. The options if you did want that one would be to get the adaptor plate (many people probably have them hanging around after fitting a direct mount derailleur) or to see if a direct mount hanger is available for your frame.
  • Top_Bhoy wrote:
    Apologies if this seems a bit of a bog-standard question; I'm a MTB noob and cannot fully confirm my question using the search function.

I currently use a medium cage conventional rear derailleur on my commuting hybrid. This medium cage is only available at the moment as a Direct Mount version.

Can the conventional version be replaced by the direct mount rear derailleur; if so, are there any pitfalls to be wary of?

Or, should I just wait until I can source the conventional version?

Thanks

This line of thinking is narrowing your choices.

There is usually a medium cage further up or lower down, which are not direct mount, in Shimano's heirachy of rear derailleurs that will be compatible.

Also, you should specify your exact RD model number.