Tektro caliper with Shimano levers

FreakyAmer
FreakyAmer Posts: 3
edited November 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi all

this is my first post in this website. i am kinda new to this mtb scene. my bike has shimano m447 brakes. The rear brake caliper got broken. Now I have this tektro gemini twin piston brake spare caliper. I was wondering if it would be compatible with shimano levers as both use mineral oil. thanks in advance :)

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    I doubt anyone has tried it but only takes a few minutes to see if it will work.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • cooldad wrote:
    I doubt anyone has tried it but only takes a few minutes to see if it will work.

lets see...fingers crossed. will update on how it turns out
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Extremely unlikely. Most probably very different fluid displacements.
  • dgmoose
    dgmoose Posts: 16
    edited November 2016
    FreakyAmer wrote:
    cooldad wrote:

lets see...fingers crossed. will update on how it turns out

No need to depend on luck.

It will work 99.9%.

Here are some things to note:

1) Use the end fittings specific to the brands at each end. So, Shimano barbed insert and olives for the Shimano levers, and Tektro barbed insert and olives for the Tektro calipers.

2) The common interface will be the hose. Tektro uses 5.5mm OD hoses whilst Shimano uses 5.0mm hoses.

In general, if there is a difference of 0.5mm OD between the two hose requirements then the two ends can be connected to a single hose because the end fittings are compression fittings and the 0.5mm are within tolerances for it to work.

If the difference is 1.0mm then the larger of the two olive IDs will fail to be crimped onto the hose.