Beginner's Gear

Trinox
Trinox Posts: 4
edited November 2016 in Road buying advice
I am new to cycling and looking for gear (Helmet, clothes, shoes?) Not too expensive but not cheap. Thanks :)

Comments

• nochekmate
    nochekmate Posts: 3,460
    Have you just sacked your butler and housekeeper?

There's a search facility on the forum & you may even push yourself to use Google.
  • Wiggle--- DHB brand. Sorted
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Trinox wrote:
    I am new to cycling and looking for gear (Helmet, clothes, shoes?) Not too expensive but not cheap. Thanks :)
    Hi Trinox - Have you tried looking on the Internet?
  • fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    if you don't have the internet, shops are quite good as well, you can go in , feel the clothes and try them on ..... they have prioces on them as well so can decide whats expensive and what isn't
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Don't worry Trinox, not everyone on here is in a Friday grump. There are some good suggestions above, as in looking at sites like BR's own gear review section and Road.cc has something similar. The best thing though is to define what your actual budget is and then work from there but a lot will come down to aesthetics and how much you want to spend...and only you can work that out. As stated above, DHB is a great start and don't overlook places like Aldi as they seem to come up trumps in a few areas. Failing that, use the search tool for specifics, like "helmet" but things like helmets have a very subjective fit so get yourself a few options and then head down to a local shop to try things on...and ride your bike :-)
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Try Aldi or Lidl for cheap quality jerseys etc
    Also consider going down to your local bike shop and trying on some kit

With regards to shorts I have found that you get what you pay for - the cheap ones don't always offer the best performance or comfort